AIMP NASHVILLE HONORS INDEPENDENT SONGWRITERS, ARTISTS, AND PUBLISHERS AT FOURTH ANNUAL AIMP NASHVILLE AWARDS SPONSORED BY BAND AGAINST CANCER WITH SARAH CANNON

Music City's creative community comes together for a night of celebration and performances at Nashville's historic Ryman Auditorium

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (Wednesday, May 1, 2019) – The Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) Nashville presented its fourth annual AIMP Nashville Awards at Music City's historic Ryman Auditorium last night, April 30. Sponsored by Band Against Cancer with Sarah Cannon, Curb | Word Music Publishing, Nashville Convention & Visitors Corp., Regions, and SoundExchange, the star-studded event brought Nashville's close-knit creative community together for a night of performances and accolades celebrating some of the past year's most notable independent songs, songwriters, and publishers. For hi-res photos from the evening, <u>click</u> <u>here</u>. For photos of the event from Getty Images' Terry Wyatt, <u>click here</u>.



From left: front row - Mike Molinar (Big Machine Music), Shannan Hatch (SESAC), Robert Carlton (SMACKSongs), Ree Guyer (Wrensong, AIMP Nashville Vice President); back row - Leslie Roberts (BMI), John Ozier (Reservoir Media Management, AIMP Nashville President). Photo by Katie Kauss.

Stoney Creek Recording Artist and AIMP Artist-Writer of the Year Nominee Jimmie Allen kicked off the fete with a pared-down, soulful rendition of Jordan Davis' "Take It From Me," followed by live performances of each nominated Song of the Year throughout the evening from artists including Renee Blair, Travis Denning, Emily Hackett, Adam Hambrick, HARDY, Natalie Hemby, and Teddy Robb. Presenters included a mix of past AIMP Award winners and industry friends, including Janine Appleton, Courtney Crist, Dallas Davidson, Matt Jenkins, Ashley McBryde, Josh Osborne, Robin Palmer, Pat Rolfe, Jeffrey Steele, Josh Thompson, and Chris Van Belkom. Media personality Ashley Eicher emceed the evening.



HARDY, photo by Katie Kauss

HARDY took home the first award of the evening, for Artist-Writer of the Year, and Jessie Jo Dillon was named Songwriter of the Year. SMACKSongs netted its second consecutive trophy for Publisher of the Year, while Kacey Musgraves' "Rainbow" was awarded Song of the Year. Hemby offered one of the evening's most poignant moments when she invited her daughter on stage to perform a duet for the show-closing song, which Hemby wrote with Shane McAnally and Kacey Musgraves.



Jessie Jo Dillon, photo by Katie Kauss

Other show highlights included the introduction of the inaugural Jeff Carlton Strong Song Award presented by Band Against Cancer with Sarah Cannon, which honors how powerful songs can change lives. Presented on stage by SMACKSongs' Robert Carlton, the award was created in honor of Carlton's late father and longtime music publisher Jeff Carlton, and given this year to Carrie Underwood's powerful hit, "Love Wins." Underwood offered a heartfelt acceptance message via video, expressing her appreciation for Nashville's songwriting talent and adding, "It's a privilege for us to be able to share our music, and to inspire people with the lyrics."

A sense of camaraderie and community was felt by all throughout the evening. Black River Entertainment Vice President of Publishing Celia Froehlig best echoed that sentiment in her acceptance speech for this year's Independent Spirit Award, saying, "It's a privilege and an honor for me to be a part of this community. [...] It's given me so much joy and allowed me to

do something for a living that I love, with people that I love, in a community that I love. And that means so much to me."



Celia Froehlig, photo by Katie Kauss

The AIMP Nashville would also like to thank the remaining sponsors of the evening: Academy of Country Music, ASCAP, BMI, GMR, SESAC, Me Gusta Music / Trina Smith, and Music Row / Sherod Robertson.

A completed list of nominees and winners for the fourth annual AIMP Nashville Awards is below.

Fourth Annual AIMP Nashville Awards Nominees (winners highlighted):

AIMP Nashville Rising Songwriter of the Year

- Aaron Eshuis
- Alysa Vanderheym
- Ben Goldsmith
- Jameson Rodgers
- Mike Walker
- Will Weatherly

AIMP Nashville Rising Artist-Writer of the Year

- Abby Anderson
- Adam Hambrick
- HARDY
- Teddy Robb
- Tenille Townes
- Travis Denning

AIMP Nashville Artist-Writer of the Year

• Brett Young

- David Lee Murphy
- Jimmie Allen
- Jordan Davis
- Luke Combs
- Maren Morris
- Old Dominion

AIMP Nashville Song Champion of the Year

- Alex Heddle
- Jeff Skaggs
- Lee Krabel
- Leslie Roberts
- Shannan Hatch
- Stephanie Cox

AIMP Nashville Publisher's Pick

- "Always Remember Us This Way" (Lady Gaga, Natalie Hemby, Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna) independently published by Pulse Songs, Creative Nation Music, Rezonant Music Publishing
- "Girl Goin' Nowhere" (Ashley McBryde, Jeremy Bussey) independently published by Song Factory
- "Made For You" (Benjy Davis, Joey Hyde, Neil Medley) independently published by Plaid Flag Music, Mojo Music & Media
- "Monday Morning Merle" (Bart Butler, Brad Warren, Brett Warren, Lance Miller) independently published by Mojo Music & Media, Bill Butler Music, Big Loud Publishing, Round Hill Music
- "People Get Old" (Lori McKenna) independently published by Creative Nation Music
- "Somebody's Daughter" (Tenille Townes, Barry Dean, Luke Laird) independently published by Big Yellow Dog Music, Pulse Songs, Creative Nation Music

AIMP Nashville Song of the Year

- "Break Up In The End" (Jessie Jo Dillon, Chase McGill, Jon Nite) independently published by Big Machine Music
- "Burning Man" (Luke Dick, Bobby Pinson) independently published by Little Louder Music, Sea Gayle Music
- "Drowns The Whiskey" (Brandon Kinney, Jeff Middleton, Josh Thompson) independently published by Tom Leis Music, Love Monkey Music, Liz Rose Music, Big Machine Music
- "I Lived It" (Rhett Akins, Ross Copperman, Ashley Gorley, Ben Hayslip) independently published by Rezonant Music Publishing, Combustion Music, Round Hill Music, THis Music

- "Rainbow" (Kacey Musgraves, Natalie Hemby, Shane McAnally) independently published by MV2 Entertainment, SMACKSongs
- "Take It From Me" (Jordan Davis, Jacob Davis, Jason Gantt) independently published by ole, Wrensong Entertainment, Rezonant Music Publishing, Love Monkey Music

AIMP Nashville Songwriter of the Year

- Ashley Gorley
- Hillary Lindsey
- Jessie Jo Dillon
- Josh Osborne
- Ross Copperman
- Shane McAnally

AIMP Nashville Publisher of the Year

- Big Loud Publishing
- Big Machine Music
- Combustion Music
- Rezonant Music Publishing
- Round Hill Music
- SMACKSongs

AIMP Independent Spirit Award

Celia Froehlig

Jeff Carlton Strong Song Award presented by Band Against Cancer with Sarah Cannon

• "Love Wins" (Carrie Underwood, Brett James, David Garcia)

About AIMP Nashville

The Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) Nashville's mission is to present a quality source of education and business development that supports independent publishers in the face of the dynamic challenges of a globally driven music industry. Formed in 1977 by a group of Los Angeles music publishers, the AIMP is a non-profit organization that has chapters in Los Angeles, New York and Nashville. Its membership is comprised of professionals in the music publishing and entertainment industries, including independent music publishers, music supervisors, songwriters, artist managers, as well as legal and accounting professionals. www.aimp.org.