

AIMP Announces Chapter Board Election Results, Ratification of First Update to Bylaws Since 1977 to Establish National Executive Committee

December 7, 2018 – The Los Angeles, Nashville, and New York Chapters of the Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) have announced the results of this year's bi-annual Board of Directors elections. In addition to choosing new leadership effective January 1, 2019, members ratified revised Association bylaws, the first substantive update since the AIMP's establishment in 1977. In addition to bringing the document in line with the industry and technological advances of the past 40 years, the new bylaws establish a national Executive Committee to govern the overall Association, with representation from each chapter. This Committee will be made up of each Chapter's President and Vice President, both newly-created positions at the Chapter level, and the Committee members will vote to elect a Chair to head the national Association. In addition, all Presidents and Vice Presidents are now required to be independent music publishers.



Outgoing AIMP President Michael Eames of PEN Music Group (left) and newly elected AIMP National Chair and Los Angeles President Teri Nelson Carpenter of Reel Muzik Werks, LLC

At AIMP's Los Angeles Chapter, **Teri Nelson Carpenter** of Reel Muzik Werks, LLC was elevated to President, and **Marc Caruso** of Angry Mob Music; **David Weitzman** of ole; and **Steven Ambers** of SOCAN were elected Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer respectively. In Nashville, **John Ozier** of ole, previously Executive Director under the old bylaws, was re-elected but to the new position of President, while Board Members **Ree Guyer** of Wrensong Music; **Chris Van Belkom** of Combustion Music; and **Dale Bobo** of Big Deal Music were elected Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer respectively. The New York Chapter re-elected **Alisa Coleman** of ABKCO Music & Records Inc. to the new position of President (she too was previously Executive Director), while **Mark Spier** of Memory Lane Music Group; **Steve White, CPA** of Janover LLC; and **Arthur Levy, Esq.** of The Levy Firm were elected Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary, respectively. The Executive Committee also voted to appoint **Nelson** **Carpenter** as the national Chair. In addition, new Board members at all three Chapters bring representation from Bank Robber Music, Big Machine Publishing, Disney Music Publishing, Downtown Music Publishing, Music Asset Management, Reservoir Media Management, Rough Trade Publishing, Round Hill Music, SESAC, SMACKSongs and Spirit Music Group.

Full election results below:

Los Angeles:

- President: Teri Nelson Carpenter Reel Muzik Werks, LLC
- Vice President: Marc Caruso Angry Mob Music (new member)
- Secretary: David Weitzman ole
- Treasurer: Steven Ambers SOCAN
- Todd Brabec Attorney/Author/Consultant
- Ginia Eady-Marshall Disney Music Publishing (new member)
- Linda Gallico Realsongs
- Erin M. Jacobson Attorney, The Music Industry Lawyer
- Sam Kling SESAC
- Dale L. Melidosian Music Asset Management (new member)
- Abby North North Music Group LLC (new member)
- Eric Polin Universal Pictures
- Barbie Quinn BMI
- Michael Todd ASCAP

Nashville:

- President: John Ozier ole
- Vice President: Ree Guyer Wrensong Music
- Secretary: Chris Van Belkom Combustion Music
- Treasurer: Dale Bobo Big Deal Music
- Mark Brown Round Hill Music (new member)
- Robert Carlton SMACKSongs (new member)
- Shannan Hatch SESAC (new member)
- Tim Hunze Parallel Music
- Steve Markland Downtown Music Publishing (new member)
- Michael Martin ASCAP
- Mike Molinar Big Machine Publishing (new member)
- Leslie Roberts BMI

New York:

- President: Alisa Coleman ABKCO Music & Records Inc.
- Vice President: Mark Spier Memory Lane Music Group
- Treasurer: Steve White, CPA Janover LLC
- Secretary: Arthur Levy, Esq. The Levy Firm
- Julia Buchheim Bank Robber Music / Rough Trade Publishing (new member)

- Phil Cialdella Atlas Music Publishing
- Keith D'Arcy Kobalt Music
- Joyce Dollinger, Esq. Alter Kendrick & Baron LLP
- Rell LaFargue Reservoir (new member)
- Michael Lau Round Hill Music (new member)
- Debbie Rose Shapiro Bernstein & Co.
- Michael Simon Harry Fox Agency (HFA) / Rumblefish
- Jon Singer Spirit Music Group (new member)
- Sharon Tapper Pivot Music Group / NYC3 (new member)

"It's an honor to take over for PEN Music Group's Michael Eames as President of the AIMP Los Angeles Chapter," said Teri Nelson Carpenter. "For the past four years, Michael has led our Chapter and the AIMP as a whole to new heights, helping to push through the Music Modernization Act and opening many new opportunities for independent music publishers. I look forward to continuing that legacy during my term."

"I couldn't be happier to keep the AIMP Nashville Chapter moving forward over the next two years as we continue to support our annual AIMP Nashville Awards, AIMP Nashville Songwriter Series, weekly AIMP Nashville Pubcast, and other monthly events," said AIMP Nashville President John Ozier. "As the hub for Country music, Nashville is a hotbed of activity in the independent publishing scene. We are excited to continue advocating for independent songwriters and publishers in our city."

"I'm honored to lead the New York Chapter again. During the last two years, we've more than doubled our local membership and increased our events substantially with the advent of monthly premier member roundtables as well as the addition of NYC3 creative events. I look forward to broadening our membership and events in the years to come, especially as we prepare to host the AIMP's Third Annual Indie Music Publishing Summit," said AIMP New York President Alisa Coleman. "This keystone event brings together all three regional AIMP Chapters with publishers, songwriters, and rights-holders from all over the world. Coupled with our new bylaws, we are looking forward to a new era of unity among the AIMP and independent publishers around the globe."

Elections to the AIMP Board of Directors are held at each Chapter every two years, with no board member allowed to serve more than four consecutive years in the same position, excluding Treasurers. Candidates must be a current member of their respective Chapter, which requires that they be actively engaged in music publishing or a related business.

About AIMP

The Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) was formed in 1977 and has local chapters in Los Angeles, New York, and Nashville. The organization's primary focus is to educate and inform music publishers about the most current industry trends and practices by providing a forum for the discussion of the issues and problems confronting the music publishing industry. The opportunity to exchange ideas and opinions with others on issues of mutual concern is fostered by the atmosphere at the AIMP's monthly meetings, forums, and workshops. For more information, visit <u>www.aimp.org</u>.

AIMP Media Contacts

Laurie Jakobsen, Jaybird Communications, 646-484-6764, <u>laurie@jaybirdcom.com</u> Bill Greenwood, Jaybird Communications, 609-221-2374, <u>bill@jaybirdcom.com</u>